top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJS

What I do before 10 am

I was a “morning person” until about 15 years ago when I became a MORNING PERSON. I credit my very early mornings to the trauma of having to wake up for winter workouts in college; because when my eyes pop open I am immediately struck by a feeling of panic – like I’m supposed to be somewhere.


And now I often do, because getting up before 4 am is now an essential part of my daily routine. Here’s how I spend the first 6+ hours of my day:


Jamie Scott Instagram
First: Instagram

I don’t have a clock in my bedroom – so when I wake up, always some time between 3:30 and 4:00 am, the first thing I do is dig around in my bed to find my phone.


Then I like to browse Instagram for about 5 minutes while I wake up.


I can get out of the house in under 15 minutes. Does it surprise you to hear that I don’t waste any steps in the morning? Every move – starting with not making my bed! – is purposeful.


My getting ready routine is quick (part of that is thanks to not having any hair): I brush my teeth, shower (I use African Black Soap that I buy in bulk - serous bulk – 10 lbs at a time), and use some witch hazel. I don’t like washcloths.


My Administrative Assistant, Beth, is another early riser; she’s up by 3:30, and we’ve exchanged multiple emails by 4:30.


If I’m in Columbia, I’m at Crosshill before 5, setting up my office, and then jumping in on a training session or take a spin class.


If I’m in Charlotte, I take a 5:30 yoga class.


Some days I call my mom at 5 am; other days I call her at 7:30 am. She and my dad get up early and go to the gym, so I check in with them to see how it went.


I really like quiet in the mornings; I don’t listen to the radio or watch TV.


Jamie Scott on Email at 3:35am
Jamie Scott's Early Morning Inbox

You may have noticed that coffee is missing from this minute by minute breakdown. It’s because I usually don’t have it… I operate on a natural high!


I do like breakfast, though, and I try to go meatless in the mornings. In Columbia I go to Whole Foods for a juice (I like the one that’s kale, spinach, cilantro, and ginger), plus a ThinkThin bar (Brownie Crunch is the best). In Charlotte I make 2 hard-boiled eggs with sliced jalapeno (stick with this blog and you’re going to see a lot of jalapeno in my eating habits); and then I immediately clean up the kitchen. Remember how I didn’t make my bed? It’s the only part of my house that’s not in perfect order.


Beth and I have been emailing this whole time, and frequently we’re done with our work by 7. I think she might go back to sleep!, but I schedule meetings starting at 8, which typically last until 12, which is where this diary ends.


I see a lot of you at 5 am, so I know I’m not alone in getting an early start on the day. Are you other 5 am-ers naturals like me? Or has your alarm been going off since 4?

143 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

“Living the Dream”

Last month I walked around before the Georgia game visiting tailgates. I am always surprised at how happy everyone is to see me.  It’s so fun for me to see all of you, out of the gym, with your famili

bottom of page